Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP)

General

Years ago, ICANN, the international caretaker of the DNS, developed an alternative dispute resolution policy (UDRP) for the resolution domain name disputes in the so called gTLDs. These are TLD zones of a generic nature, such as .com, .org and .net.

The introduction of new gTLDs (including .vlaanderen and .brussels) means that the UDRP procedure also extends to these new domain names.

The UDRP procedure is nearly identical to the existing ADR procedure for .be domain names. The latter was originally developed based on the UDRP rules.

ICANN itself doesn't manage any disputes under the UDRP, but trusts the management to a number of UDRP providers. Much like how Cepina acts for the .be dispute resolution, these UDRP providers will follow up on the whole dispute and take care of the administrative and judicial settlement. The most relevant UDRP providers for Belgian litigants are: WIPO, National Arbitration Forum and Czech Arbitration Court. The full list of approved URDP providers can be found here: https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/providers-6d-2012-02-25-en

Registrants of .vlaanderen or .brussels domain names agreed to participate in good order to the UDRP procedures raised against them and the possible results when they accepted the terms and conditions.

Every stakeholder can start the UDRP procedure at one of the approved UDRP providers to resolve a dispute concerning a .vlaanderen or .brussels domain name. The dispute will be judged by an independent juridical expert in the matter (Panelist) or a group of 3 experts (Panel). The expert or the group can decide to delete the domain name, of to transfer it to the plaintiff.

An overview of the URDP policy can be found here:

https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/udrp-2012-02-25-en

https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/policy-2012-02-25-en

https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/rules-be-2012-02-25-en

Receptivity and well-foundedness of domain name disputes

A complaint from a third party against the .vlaanderen or .brussels registrant will only be taken into care by the UDRP provider if the complaint was filed according to the conditions and after payment of the costs for the procedure.

To obtain the transfer of a domain name, three cumulative conditions must be proven:

  • The domain name is identical to, or similar to the point of confusing with, a brand name to which the plaintiff owns the rights; and
  • the registrant does not have any rights or legitimate interests regarding the domain name; and
  • the domain name was registered and used by the registrant in bad faith.

 

Costs of the procedure

The costs of the procedure are for the account of the plaintiff who starts the procedure. The costs depend on the number of domain names that are the subject of the complaint, the choice for one single expert of a group of expert and the specific UDRP provider of the plaintiff's choice.

For a dispute case concerning one domain name, tried by one single expert, the cost will vary between 1,300 and 1,500 USD.

ICANN

The Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers, a non-profit organisation that is responsible worldwide for managing domain names.

registrant

Domain owner, person who holds a domain name.

TLD

Top level Domain, refers to the highest level of domain names. In www.dnsbelgium.be is .be the TLD or domain extension. There are two types of domain extensions: country extensions and generic extensions.

DNS

Domain Name System or Domain Name Server. The global DNS is the system and protocol used on the internet to translate domain names into IP addresses and vice versa. 

CEPINA

The Belgian Centre for Arbitration and Mediation. Working in conjunction with CEPINA, DNS Belgium has developed an Alternative Dispute Resolution procedure (ADR) to deal with disputes relating to .be domain names.

ADR

Alternative Dispute Resolution. Any party with an interest can lodge an application for the alternative dispute resolution with CEPINA to settle a dispute about a .be domain name. The dispute is assessed by an independent Third-Party Decision-Maker, who is a legal expert in the matter. The Third-Party Decider may decide to delete the domain name or to transfer the name to the complainant. Under normal circumstances, the registrant is able to reply once in writing to the complainant's arguments.

UDRP

Uniform domain name dispute resolution policy. Years ago, ICANN, the international caretaker of the DNS, developed an alternative dispute resolution policy (UDRP) for the resolution domain name disputes in the so called gTLDs. These are TLD zones of a generic nature, such as .com, .org and .net.

Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP)

Principe général

Il y a plusieurs années, l'ICANN, l'organisation internationale en charge du DNS, a développé une procédure alternative pour la résolution des litiges (UDRP) relatives aux noms de domaine gTLD. Ce sont les zones des TLD à caractère générique tels que .com, .org et .net.

L'introduction des nouveaux gTLD (entre autres .vlaanderen et .brussels) implique que la procédure UDRP s'étend également aux nouveaux noms de domaine.

La procédure UDRP est très similaire à la procédure alternative existante pour les noms de domaine .be : la procédure ADR. Cette dernière a notamment été inspirée des principes UDRP.

Ce n'est pas l'ICANN même qui traite les dossiers litigieux, ce sont des fournisseurs de service approuvés par l'ICANN qui gèrent les dossiers. Tout comme le fait le Cepani pour la résolution des disputes relatives à des noms de domaine .be, ce sont les fournisseurs de service approuvés qui suivent et traitent les dossiers litigieux, tant sur le plan administratif et judiciaire. Voici les fournisseurs UDRP les plus importants pour les ayants-droit belges : WIPO, National Arbitration Forum et Czech Arbitration Court. La liste de tous les fournisseurs UDRP approuvés se trouve ici : https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/providers-6d-2012-02-25-en

Conformément aux conditions générales applicables aux noms de domaine .vlaanderen ou .brussels, tout détenteur est tenu de se soumettre aux procédures de résolution de litige UDRP et d'accepter les conséquences éventuelles d'une procédure de litige.

Tout ayant-droit peut entamer la procédure UDRP relative à un nom de domaine .brussels ou .vlaanderen auprès d'un des fournisseurs de service approuvés. Le litige est jugé par un expert juridique indépendant en la matière (panéliste) ou par un collège de 3 experts (panel). L'expert ou le groupe d'experts peuvent ordonner l'annulation du nom de domaine en question ou le transfert vers le requérant.

Plus de détails concernant la politique UDRP ci-dessous :

https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/udrp-2012-02-25-en

https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/policy-2012-02-25-en

https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/rules-be-2012-02-25-en

Caractère recevable et fondé des plaintes concernant un litige de nom de domaine

Une plainte déposée par un tiers à l'encontre d'un détenteur de nom de domaine .be est prise en considération par le fournisseur de service UDRP si elle est conforme aux conditions de forme et moyennant le paiement des frais de procédure.

Pour obtenir le transfert du nom de domaine, il faut remplir trois conditions simultanément :

  • le nom de domaine du détenteur est identique ou présente une forte ressemblance avec une marque sur laquelle le requérant possède des droits ;
  • le détenteur du nom de domaine ne détient pas de droits ni d'intérêts légitimes en relation avec le nom de domaine ;
  • le nom de domaine du détenteur a été enregistré ou utilisé de mauvaise foi.

Coût de la procédure

Le coût de la procédure est acquitté par le requérant qui a entamé la procédure. Le coût dépendra du nombre de noms de domaine faisant l'objet de la plainte, le choix pour un seul expert ou pour un collège d'experts et la fournisseur de service UDRP qu'on veut engager.

Pour un dossier de litige concernant un seul nom de domaine et jugé par un seul expert, le coût peut varier entre 1,300 et 1,500 USD.

ICANN

Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers, une asbl  responsable au niveau mondial de la gestion des noms de domaine

gTLD

Acronyme pour generic Top Level Domains. Renvoie aux extensions à caractère générique désignant des domaines d’application comme le .com pour commercial et le .gov pour gouvernemental.

TLD

Top Level Domain, indique le nom de domaine qui se situe la plus haut dans la hiérarchie. Dans www.dnsbelgium.be, le .be est le TLD ou l’extension. Il existe deux types d’extensions de domaine : les extensions des pays et les extensions génériques.

DNS

Domain Name System, littéralement Système de Noms de Domaine. Le DNS est le protocole internet qui assure la conversion entre les noms de domaine et les adresses IP et vice versa.

ADR

Alternative Dispute Resolution. Tout ayant droit peut entamer auprès du CEPANI la procédure alternative de résolution des litiges relatifs aux noms de domaine .be. Le litige est tranché par un Tiers Décideur indépendant, expert juridique en la matière. Le Tiers Décideur peut ordonner l'annulation du nom de domaine ou son transfert au requérant. Normalement, le détenteur du nom de domaine peut répondre une fois par écrit à l'argumentation du requérant. 

UDRP

Uniform domain name dispute resolution policy. Il y a plusieurs années, l'ICANN, l'organisation internationale en charge du DNS, a développé une procédure alternative pour la résolution des litiges (UDRP) relatives aux noms de domaine gTLD. Ce sont les zones des TLD à caractère générique tels que .com, .org et .net.