News

DNS Belgium awarded VOKA Sustainable Business Charter

25 June 2020

Yesterday, DNS Belgium was awarded the Sustainable Business Charter by Flanders' Chambers of Commerce and Industry (VOKA) for the third year in a row. The corona measures meant the charter award presentation could not be held at the Werchter festival site this year. Instead, it was held by video conference, which is the kind of sustainable initiative DNS Belgium strongly advocates. 

Because we feel strongly about sustainability and take many actions in this field, we submitted as many as 17 actions to VOKA. The following initiatives are the most important to us. 

DigitalForYouth.be

DNS Belgium and Close the Gap joined forces to establish the DigitalForYouth.be non-profit organisation. The idea is to support projects in Belgium that teach young people digital skills. DigitalForYouth.be does that by collecting, refurbishing and distributing used laptops. DNS Belgium thus provides a lever to organisations that support vulnerable target groups.

The lockdown made the importance of computers and the internet in our current society abundantly clear. More than ever youngsters needed their own computer for distance learning and making their homework. To prevent children in vulnerable families from falling behind because a PC is not always available at home, DigitalForYouth.be collected over 12,000 laptops from companies. DigitalForYouth.be refurbished these laptops and distributed them through schools to youngsters who needed them most. 

Ava and Trix

The mission of the Ava & Trix teaching package is to make children – girls especially – between 8 and 11 enthusiastic about science. The teaching package stimulates high-quality education, gender equality and innovation which is why it is offered to schools and individual players for free. DNS Belgium worked with Ava & Trix on an episode about the Internet.

International collaboration within ICANN

DNS Belgium also supports international collaboration to build a stronger worldwide internet. Within ICANN we try to be a pioneer on the international stage. Information sharing is an important factor in this. DNS Belgium shared its knowledge about Business Continuity with the colleague- registry from Guatemala (.gt) and helped implement a Business Continuity programme. 

Cyber Security Coalition

In addition, DNS Belgium also plays an active role in the Cyber Security Coalition in Belgium. By constructing a strong cyber security ecosystem in Belgium, DNS Belgium wants to ensure the internet stays secure and is more robust. We do that by bringing together the skills and expertise of the academic world, the private sector and the government on a trust-based platform. This allows us to efficiently share information and knowledge and encourage joint actions. 

Role as climate ambassador 

And finally, the climate is also very important to us. DNS Belgium is making several efforts to achieve a zero carbon footprint. The ambitious climate programme is aimed at a major reduction and compensation of our CO2 emissions. We also take our responsibility for the consequences of historic emissions.  For example, in recent years we switched to a green energy supplier, we migrated the registration and management platform to a climate neutral cloud solution, we make efforts for a greener mobility, etc. 

“The sustainability actions of DNS Belgium are a good example of how service companies can also get involved in sustainable entrepreneurship. DNS Belgium succeeds in working creatively and in its core business with the UN Sustainable Development Goals. They have been doing this for three years in a row now. As a result they will receive a UNITAR certificate and the title of SDG Pioneer from the United Nations in October”

These are just some of the 17 actions DNS Belgium took to contribute to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals and for which VOKA awarded the Sustainable Business Charter to us. We will continue to take new initiatives and promote sustainable business in the future too. 

With this article, we support the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.

Nouvelles

DNS Belgium reçoit la Charte VOKA Entreprendre durablement

25 juin 2020

DNS Belgium a reçu hier, pour la troisième année consécutive, la Charte Entreprendre durablement, décernée par le réseau d'entreprises flamandes VOKA. En raison des mesures prises contre le coronavirus, la cérémonie de remise de cette année n'a pas eu lieu sur le terrain du festival de Werchter, mais par vidéoconférence. Une remise numérique qui correspond d'ailleurs tout à fait à l'ADN de DNS Belgium.  

Parce que nous militons activement pour le développement durable et que nous entreprenons un grand nombre d'actions dans ce domaine, nous avons soumis non moins de 17 initiatives au VOKA. Voici celles que considérons nous-mêmes comme les plus importantes. 

DigitalForYouth.be

DNS Belgium et Close the Gap ont uni leurs forces pour créer l'asbl DigitalForYouth.be. Le but est de soutenir dans notre pays des projets de nature à renforcer les compétences numériques des jeunes. À cet effet, DigitalForYouth.be récolte des laptops usagés pour les reconditionner et les distribuer. Ce faisant, DNS Belgium offre un levier aux organisations qui accompagnent les publics vulnérables.

Le confinement n'a fait que souligner l'importance des ordinateurs et d'Internet dans notre société actuelle. Plus que jamais, les jeunes avaient besoin d'un ordinateur pour suivre l'enseignement à distance et faire leurs devoirs. Pour éviter que les enfants des familles précaires souffrent d'un retard scolaire faute d'avoir accès à un pc à domicile, DigitalForYouth.be a recueilli plus de 12.000 laptops auprès des entreprises. DigitalForYouth.be a reconditionné ces ordinateurs avant de les distribuer par l'intermédiaire des écoles aux jeunes qui en ont le plus besoin. 

Ava et Trix

Le programme pédagogique Ava & Trix a pour vocation d'encourager les enfants – surtout les filles – de 8 à 11 ans à s'intéresser à la science. Favorisant un enseignement de qualité, l'égalité des genres et l'innovation, le programme est proposé gratuitement aux écoles et aux acteurs individuels. DNS Belgium a collaboré avec Ava & Trix pour produire un épisode sur Internet

Collaboration internationale au sein de l'ICANN

DNS Belgium soutient par ailleurs la collaboration internationale dans le but de construire un Internet mondial plus solide. Dans le cadre de l' ICANN , nous tentons de jouer un rôle de pionnier sur la scène internationale. Le partage du savoir est primordial à cet égard. DNS Belgium a partagé sa connaissance de la continuité d'activité avec son collègue registry du Guatemala (.gt) et contribué à la mise en place d'un programme de Business  Continuity. 

Cyber Security Coalition

DNS Belgium prend également une part active à la Cyber Security Coalition en Belgique. En créant au niveau national un écosystème robuste sur le plan de la cybersécurité, DNS Belgium s'efforce de rendre Internet plus sûr et plus résilient dans notre pays. Dans ce but, nous réunissons sur une plate-forme à base de confiance les compétences et l'expertise du monde académique, du secteur privé et des autorités publiques. Cela nous permet d'échanger efficacement les informations et les savoirs. Nous menons aussi des actions conjointes.  

Ambassadeur du climat 

Enfin, le climat nous tient particulièrement à cœur. DNS Belgium multiplie les efforts pour devenir climatiquement neutre. Notre ambitieux programme climatique vise une forte baisse de nos émissions de CO2 ainsi que leur compensation. Nous allons jusqu'à assumer la responsabilité des émissions du passé.  Depuis quelques années, nous avons adopté un fournisseur d'énergie verte, nous avons migré la plate-forme d'enregistrement et de gestion sur une solution cloud neutre en carbone, nous déployons des efforts pour une mobilité plus verte…   

les actions que DNS Belgium a entrepris sont un bon exemple de la façon dont vous pouvez, en tant que prestataire de services, jouer la carte du développement durable. Depuis 3 ans, DNS Belgium a réussi à intégrer de manière créative les objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies dans son core business et a ainsi obtenu un certificat UNITAR et le titre de pionnier SDG

Ce n'est là qu'un échantillon des 17 actions entreprises par DNS Belgium pour contribuer aux Objectifs de développement durable des Nations unies. C'est dans ce cadre que le VOKA nous a décerné sa Charte Entreprendre durablement. Nous allons continuer à lancer de nouvelles initiatives intégrant une volonté de développement durable.  

Avec cet article, nous contribuons à réaliser ces objectifs de développement durable de l’Organisation des Nations Unies.